Chapter 12The Path of DevotionVerse 13, 14


Sanskrit Vocal





Commentaries of the Four Authorized Vaisnava Sampradayas

as confirmed in the Garga Samhita Canto 10, Chapter 61, Verses 23, 24, 25, 26
Rudra Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Sridhara Swami's Commentary


The characteristics of Lord Krishna's devotees which quickly lead to divine grace are now being elucidated in seven verses beginning with advesta-sarva- bhutanam meaning devoid of malice towards anyone, is non-envious of anyone and benevolent towards everyone, free from concepts of possessiveness and ideas of ego consciousness as well as free from false identification of being the physical body, compassionate to the unfortunate, always forgiving, content and cheerful with loss or gain, tolerant, equipoise in happiness or distress, satisfied with what comes by its own accord, firmly resolved in the teachings of the spiritual master about the Supreme Lord, one is contemplative and dedicating their mind, intellect and heart to the Supreme Lord Krishna is very dear to Him.

Brahma Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Madhvacarya's Commentary

Sri Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Ramanuja's Commentary


8 The Supreme Lord Krishna confirms that the qualities He is describing are applicable to yo mad-bhaktah which means His exclusive devotee. The word advesta means free from hatred for any being at any time. Maitrah means benign and showing good will to all, both well-wishers and ill-wishers by the understanding that they are merely following the tendencies of the impulse imparted to them by the Supreme Lord in relation to one's own good and bad actions. Karunah means compassionate, to be sympathetic towards the sufferings of others, friend and foe alike. Nirmamah means devoid of sentiments of possessiveness and ego related conceptions mine-ness regarding the physical body, family and associated relationships and objects. Nirahankarah means free from the false conception of thinking one's self to be the physical body and consequently unaffected by the dualities of material existence such as pain and pleasure, praise and ridicule, joy and grief, etc. all based upon the mentality of the mind. Ksami means tolerant, to be unaffected by external incidents such as physical accidents or catastrophes. Santustah means always content with whatever comes along by its own accord for the purpose of bodily sustenance. Satatam yogi is one who always engages themselves to the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness in loving devotion to the Supreme Lord. Satatam means always and has two meaning: one is to be continuously and perpetually engaged in bhakti or exclusive loving devotion to Lord Krishna at every moment and two is to engage in this bhakti to Lord Krishna in all ways meaning in every possibility and facet of one's life. Yatatma means the ability to govern and control the workings of the mind. Drdha-niscayah means firmly resolved in the knowledge of the Vedic scriptures regarding the immortality of the atma or eternal soul and the Supreme Lord and irrevocably established in bhakti to the Lord Krishna. Arpita-mano-buddhir means who dedicates their intelligence and consciousness to the Supreme Lord by performing activities dedicated to Him without desire for recompense. Then when the Supreme Lord Krishna is worshipped in this way He would Himself guide one internally to achieve atma tattva or realisation of the soul and attain communion with Him. One who possesses all these qualities is very dear to Supreme Lord Krishna and is me priyah or the recepient of His love.

Kumara Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Kesava Kasmiri's Commentary

Lord Krishna explained in the previous verse that by following renunciation for the rewards of actions one achieves the Supreme peace. Now explaining further He declares that His devotee who has become renounced should also possess the virtues given in seven verses beginning with advesta sarva- bhutanam meaning free from enmity towards any living being. One reflects that all misfortunes are due to their past karma or reactions from one's own actions. One is also karuna or compassionate to those in need and is nirmamo or free from possessiveness of even relatives and nirahankarah or ego sense from even one's physical body and things other than the atma or eternal soul. Who is dukha-sukha or even minded and self-satisfied in happiness or distress with whatever comes of its own accord. Who is ksami or tolerant and drdha-niscaya meaning firmly resolved and resolutely determined to fully follow the teachings of the spiritual master and the Vedic scriptures and perform bhakti or exclusive loving devotion to Lord Krishna. One who has ceased to pursue the desires of the senses and mental tendencies of the mind and has instead directed their consciousness internally to the atma in the heart surrendering their mind and intelligence to the Supreme Lord Krishna verily worship Him and are very dear to Him.

Thus ends commentaries of chapter 12, verse 13, 14 of the Srimad Bhagavad-Gita.

Verse 13, 14

Copyright © Bhagavad-Gita Trust 1998-2015