Chapter 14The Three Qualities of Material NatureVerse 10


Sanskrit Vocal





Commentaries of the Four Authorized Vaisnava Sampradayas

as confirmed in the Garga Samhita Canto 10, Chapter 61, Verses 23, 24, 25, 26
Rudra Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Sridhara Swami's Commentary

All the three gunas being sattva guna or mode of goodness, raja guna or mode of passiion and tama guna or mode of ignorance originate from past karma which are reactions to actions from previous lives whose results are known as adrishta. When sattva guna is dominant it overpowers the effects of rajas and tamas and in this way sattva binds the jiva or embodied being exclusively to its effects of happiness and pursuit of knowledge. When raja guna is dominant it overpowers sattva and tamas and binds the jiva to its effects of desire and activity and when tama guna is dominant it overpowers sattva and rajas and binds the jiva by its effects of inertia and indolence.

Brahma Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Madhvacarya's Commentary

Sri Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Ramanuja's Commentary

Lord Krishna confirms the fact that the three gunas or modes of sattva or goodness, rajas or passion and tamas or nescience are the three qualities that exist within all jivas or embodied beings in the material existence. But owing to adrishta which is conditions imposed by the effects of past karma or reactions to actions and determined as well by the types of food that were chosen to eat in sustaining the physical body in the previous life. Based upon this assessment any of three gunas may be dominant or they may neutralise each other or they may be antagonistic to each other depending upon which mode is more present and dominant within a jiva. This being the reality it can be inferred by knowledge and discerned by witnessing the visible effects of the three gunas as manifested within any jiva.

Kumara Vaisnava Sampradaya:


Kesava Kasmiri's Commentary

Now Lord Krishna explains the relationship and interaction between the three gunas which are sattva guna or the mode of goodness, raja guna or the mode of passion and tama guna or the mode of ignorance. All three gunas inexplicably locked to all jivas or embodied beings throughout material existence; but one of the gunas prevails over the other two due to the stringent law of karma or the reactions of committed actions performed in the previous lifetime combined with the effects from the types of food eaten such as vegetarian or animal, compounded with the degree of sinfulness committed knowingly or unknowingly determines which of the three gunas will be prevalent. The Chadogya Upanisad VI.VI.V beginning annamayam hi somya mana states: The mind is made up of the food that it eats. Srila Vedavyasa states in the Bhagavat Purana that knowledge, water, progeny, place, time, actions, origin, meditation, formula and mental tendency, are the 10 causes of growth

Thus ends commentaries of chapter 14, verse 10 of the Srimad Bhagavad-Gita.

Verse 10

Copyright © Bhagavad-Gita Trust 1998-2015